EDUC261: Information and Communication Technologies and Education
Introduction
The research process describes the series of steps that are involved when researching information for an assignment. This process is often described as circular as it involves planning, searching, finding, using and evaluating information and, depending on your results, starting the process over again. The research process begins with getting background information.
Get background information
The first place to begin your research is the Unit Outline for your course.
Here you will find information about the types of literature required for the topic as well as recommended readings and suggested references to get you started on your assignment.
Additional background information is also available in your WebCT online unit.
If you are unfamiliar with a topic begin by finding definitions, explanations or general overviews in reference sources such as subject specific dictionaries, encyclopaedias and handbooks.
Online and print reference resources to get you started include:
Online reference sources
Australian thesaurus of education descriptors (ATED)
Definitive reference on Australian terminology in the area of education. It reflects terminology used to describe research and practice in Australian education. ATED is used to index the A+ education database. This thesaurus is also available online through the A+ education database.
ERIC thesaurus
Reference source on United States terminology in the area of education. The ERIC Thesaurus is used to index the ERIC database. Also available online through the ERIC database.
The cytopedic educational dictionary
Provides definitions of words, phrases, legal rulings, medical terms, names, testing terminology and abbreviations relevant to educational studies. Focus is on US educational terminology.
Education and technology : an encyclopedia
Includes definitions, topic overviews and references to further reading in the areas of educational technology, computer-assisted instruction, Internet in education and distance education.
Encyclopedia of education
Comprehensive essays of the institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies inherent in teaching practices.
International encyclopedia of social & behavioral sciences
Comprehensive coverage of educational topics. Includes definitions, detailed topic overviews, substantial biographies on key educational theorists and extensive references to further readings.
Print reference sources
The Greenwood dictionary of education
Defines contemporary meanings of words and terms used in the field of education.
The Encyclopedia of new media
Definitions of the key terms, concepts, trends, and buzzwords that have become the everyday language of the Internet and global society.
TIP: When exploring encyclopedias note any relevant references in the bibliography following the article.
